Child Care Awards of Excellence

In 2014, 15 child-care providers, organizations and a municipality have been awarded 2014 Child Care Awards of Excellence in the following categories for their outstanding work on behalf of BC children and families. In addition, 43 licensed child-care facilities have also received a Child Care Legacy Award in recognition of more than 40 years of service to British Columbians.

Provincial: Recognizes licensed early childhood educators or licensed family child care providers.

  • Elitsa Dobreva, Coquitlam
  • Christine MacLeod, Delta
  • Gordana Ostojic, Surrey

Honourable Mentions

  • Mariola Adamska, Surrey
  • Helen Gill, Surrey

Innovation: Recognizes individuals and/or organizations providing service innovation in a non-traditional setting. This may include a StrongStart BC Centre, recreation centre program or programs offered by a business.

  • Ritchie Bros. Auctioneers Corporate Child Care, Burnaby
  • Fernie School Age Child Care Ltd., Fernie
  • Tsleil-Waututh Child and Family Development Centre, North Vancouver
  • YMCA of Northern B.C., Prince George
  • Guylaine Boilard, Vancouver
  • Barbara Massis, Vancouver

Honourable Mentions

  • Westwood Montessori, Coquitlam
  • Emily Vera, Richmond

Local Government: Honours local governments that demonstrate excellence in their support of, and current involvement in, the delivery of existing child care initiatives.

  • City of Surrey

Leadership – Business: Honours licensed businesses that provide non-direct child-care service delivery – through external partnerships – to provide exceptional child care support for employees and their children.

  • The Onni Group, Vancouver

Leadership – Emerging Leader: Recognizes licensed early childhood educators who meet a number of criteria, including demonstrating leadership in the child care community.

  • Tina Richardson, Abbotsford
  • Lynette Mikalishen, Prince George

Leadership – Lifetime Achievement: Recognizes a child-care professional’s outstanding contributions to enriching the lives of children and families. These contributions may be through innovation, knowledge or new ways to improve professional practice.

  • Penny Coates, Victoria
  • Toni Hoyland, Victoria

Child Care Legacy Awards: Recognizes licensed child-care facilities that have provided more than 40 years of service.

  • Faith Lutheran Preschool, Burnaby
  • Grace Lutheran Preschool, Burnaby
  • Puddle Splashers, Burnaby
  • St. Alban’s Daycare, Burnaby
  • Village Daycare Society, Burnaby
  • Arcadian Early Learning, Duncan
  • Hornby Island Daycare, Hornby Island
  • Malaspina Child Care Development Society, Nanaimo
  • Malaspina Preschool, Nanaimo
  • Lonsdale Creek Daycare Centre (two programs), North Vancouver
  • Sunrise Preschool, Parksville
  • Brighouse Preschool Centre, Richmond
  • Little Friends Preschool, Richmond
  • Cloverdale Christian Early Learning, Surrey
  • Village Montessori, Surrey
  • Terrace Child Development Centre, Terrace
  • Berwick Child Development Centre, Vancouver
  • Boat Daycare, Vancouver
  • Dickens Out of School Care, Vancouver
  • Dunbar Memorial Preschool, Vancouver
  • Hastings Community Centre Preschool, Vancouver
  • Jasper Crescent Day Care (two programs), Vancouver
  • Learning Tree, Vancouver
  • Little People Parent Participation Preschool, Vancouver
  • Marineview Preschool, Vancouver
  • Marpole Oakridge Daycare Society, Vancouver
  • Montessori Day Care Society, Vancouver
  • Pooh Corner Daycare Centre (two programs), Vancouver
  • Renfrew Park Community Centre Preschool, Vancouver
  • Secord Out of School Care, Vancouver
  • St. Michael’s Day Care Centre, Vancouver
  • Shannon Day Care (two programs), Vancouver
  • Spare Time Fun Centre, Vancouver
  • Vancouver Talmud Torah Nursery School, Vancouver
  • Wesbrook Parent Participation Preschool, Vancouver
  • Fairfield Community Out of School Care, Victoria
  • James Bay Community School Society, Victoria
  • Metchosin Preschool, Victoria
  • West Vancouver Child Development Centre, West Vancouver

Photo of child

2014 Award Categories

  • Provincial
  • Innovation
  • Local Government
  • Leadership

Documents you will need