Exit NowUse This Site Safely

Your safety is the most important thing. If you do not want anyone to know that you have visited this website please read the information below. It sets out the steps you can take to increase your safety when using the internet.

If your partner is about to enter the room and you need to close this site quicky, click the red, Exit This Site Now button at the top of the page. You will be taken immediately to Google.

If you are concerned someone is monitoring your internet usage, it would be safest for you to access the internet from another place, like a friend's house, your work, an internet café or local library.

Cover your tracks

Every time you use the internet your internet browser saves pieces of information like images, search terms or words used in search engines and login names. This helps the pages you frequently visit load faster by loading the files from your hard disk drive instead of having to downloading the web page in full again. These are saved as “cookies” and they can mark a trail or “history” that reveals what you have been looking at online.

Please note: There is a risk involved in removing data from your computer. Removing cookies may clear saved passwords for membership sites or online banking which may alert your partner that you have removed information. Also, your partner may notice if the address history on the PC has been cleared, and this may raise suspicion.

When you have finished viewing this site, take these steps to keep others from knowing you have visited it. (See the Help section in your web browser for more specific instructions.)

Remove this site from your computer's history:

  1. On your keyboard press Ctrl-H together.
  2. The history of the websites that have been viewed will show in the browser window.
  3. Locate this website folder. Right click on the folder and choose delete.
  4. Close the history window.

Remove this site from your computer's cache:

  1. Pull down the Tools menu in the browser window.
  2. Select Internet Options.
  3. In the dialogue box click on the button Delete files.
  4. In the alert box select OK.
  5. Click "OK" again to close the window.

Clear ALL your browsing traces

If you are unsure what browser you are using click on Help on the toolbar at the top of the browser screen. A drop down menu will appear. The last item will say About Internet Explorer, About Mozilla Firefox or something similar. This tells you which browser you’re using. Then follow the relevant instructions below.

Internet Explorer users

  • Select Tools > Delete browsing history. Click Delete All.

Mozilla Firefox users

  • Select Tools > Clear Private Data. Check ALL boxes and click Clear private data now.

Clear your toolbar history

Toolbars such as Google, AOL and Yahoo also record the search words you have typed into the search box. To remove all the search words you have typed in, check the individual instructions for your toolbar. For example, for the Google toolbar all you need to do is click on the Google icon, and choose "Clear Search History."

Clear your email

Reading your emails is also a way your partner can monitor what you are doing.

If you do not use a password to log on to your computer, someone else will be able to access your email and track your internet usage. The safest way to find information on the internet is at:

  • a local library,
  • a friend's house,
  • an internet café or
  • at work.

Any email you have already sent will normally be saved in the folder marked sent items. Go to sent items and delete emails you don't want a person to see.

Sometimes an unfinished email will be saved in the folder marked drafts. Go to the drafts folder to delete it.

If you reply to any email, the original message will probably be in the body of the message – delete the email if you don't want anyone to see your original message.

Remember to empty your Deleted Items folder as all of your deleted items are stored there until you empty the folder and remove them completely.

If you have a shared email account or your partner has access to your login or password details, you may wish to set up a new email account that you can keep private. Use a provider like Hotmail or Yahoo for an account you can access from anywhere. Use a name that is not recognizable as you.

Please note: If an abuser sends you threatening or harassing e-mail messages, you can print them and save them as evidence.